Claude Code component directories compared on the same 6 criteria
2 columnsEvery figure below was read off that company's own page; each source URL and the date it was read are listed at the foot of this page. SkillWorks is the publisher of this table and is not one of the 2 compared. It scores these rather than competing with them.
The site's own headline figure. Browsing the catalogue on 14 August 2026 showed the breakdown behind it: Skills 871, Agents 421, Commands 286, Settings 70, Hooks 62, MCPs 94, Plugins 33.
Not publishedThe repository publishes no total for how many resources the list carries — its headline figures are repository figures: 52.3k stars, 4.6k forks, 1,530 commits. Read on the repository's own page on 14 August 2026.
"Claude Code Templates: 1000+ Agents, Commands, Skills & MCP Integrations", with the seven kinds as the site's primary navigation. The widest coverage of the four.
Skills, agents, status lines, tooling, plugins — and prose"A delectable showcase of top tier skills, ambidextrous agents, scintillating status lines, top notch developer tooling, and also we have plugins." Its table of contents also carries categories no installer covers: Documentation, Knowledge & Learning; Alternative Clients; Usage & Cost Observability.
No submission or contribution route is published on the site's own front page, which is what was read. What that page does carry beside its featured slots is "Promote your component →", a paid-placement route rather than a listing route.
Issue form, gated on age or stars"Any resource that is recommended must either: (i) Be at least 14 days old … AND show signs of active development … OR (ii) Have at least 100 stars." One at a time, via the web issue form only — "Do not open a PR" — and "resources that fail these criteria will be closed automatically". The only published maturity bar of the four.
The front page publishes no validation, parse check or load check for the components it lists, and no per-component health signal. Read on aitmpl.com's own front page on 14 August 2026.
A human reads it; the bot does notStated plainly by the maintainer: "The bot is a mechanical form-validator, it does not review the quality of the recommended resource", and "there is no formal submission/review process at the moment … Recommendations are reviewed in a best-effort way". The check is editorial, not mechanical, and the page says so rather than implying otherwise.
"Stack Builder … Browse components and click the + button to add them to your stack for easy installation." The only basket-style install of the four.
Not publishedThere is no installer, CLI or manifest — the list is links and descriptions, and installation is whatever each linked project documents for itself. Read on the repository's own page on 14 August 2026.
The catalogue's own sort control offers exactly two orders. Neither is a quality or health measure.
Not publishedEntries are grouped by category — Start Here, From Anthropic, Security, Agent Orchestration and so on — with no stated ordering inside a category and no sort control. Read on the repository's own page on 14 August 2026.
“Not published” means that company does not state the figure on the page cited at the foot of this page. It is not a claim that no such figure exists. A company that publishes no limit most likely has none, but “most likely” is not a fact, and this table prints what was read rather than what was inferred.
- Whether anything checks the item. whether the directory itself validates that a listed skill, subagent or plugin parses and loads, as distinct from checking that its author is popular
Claude Code Templates (aitmpl.com) vs awesome-claude-code — items listed?
Claude Code Templates (aitmpl.com): 1000+. The site's own headline figure. Browsing the catalogue on 14 August 2026 showed the breakdown behind it: Skills 871, Agents 421, Commands 286, Settings 70, Hooks 62, MCPs 94, Plugins 33. awesome-claude-code does not state it on github.com. The repository publishes no total for how many resources the list carries — its headline figures are repository figures: 52.3k stars, 4.6k forks, 1,530 commits. Read on the repository's own page on 14 August 2026. Read from aitmpl.com and github.com on 2026-09-05.
Claude Code Templates (aitmpl.com) vs awesome-claude-code — what it lists?
Claude Code Templates (aitmpl.com): Skills, agents, commands, settings, hooks, MCPs, plugins. "Claude Code Templates: 1000+ Agents, Commands, Skills & MCP Integrations", with the seven kinds as the site's primary navigation. The widest coverage of the four. awesome-claude-code: Skills, agents, status lines, tooling, plugins — and prose. "A delectable showcase of top tier skills, ambidextrous agents, scintillating status lines, top notch developer tooling, and also we have plugins." Its table of contents also carries categories no installer covers: Documentation, Knowledge & Learning; Alternative Clients; Usage & Cost Observability. Read from aitmpl.com and github.com on 2026-09-05.
Claude Code Templates (aitmpl.com) vs awesome-claude-code — how something gets listed?
Claude Code Templates (aitmpl.com) does not state it on aitmpl.com. No submission or contribution route is published on the site's own front page, which is what was read. What that page does carry beside its featured slots is "Promote your component →", a paid-placement route rather than a listing route. awesome-claude-code: Issue form, gated on age or stars. "Any resource that is recommended must either: (i) Be at least 14 days old … AND show signs of active development … OR (ii) Have at least 100 stars." One at a time, via the web issue form only — "Do not open a PR" — and "resources that fail these criteria will be closed automatically". The only published maturity bar of the four. Read from aitmpl.com and github.com on 2026-09-05.
When should I pick Claude Code Templates (aitmpl.com), and when awesome-claude-code?
Claude Code Templates (aitmpl.com) — You want breadth in one place and you want to take several pieces at once. It is the only one of the four that lists all seven Claude Code artifact kinds — skills, agents, commands, settings, hooks, MCPs and plugins — under one search, and the only one with a basket: "Browse components and click the + button to add them to your stack for easy installation." If you are setting up a new machine or a new repository from scratch, that is a genuinely different workflow from copying install commands one at a time. awesome-claude-code — You want a human's judgement rather than a search result, and you are browsing rather than installing. It is the only one of the four where a person decided each entry was worth your attention — "A hand-picked collection … with an emphasis on code quality, security, and originality" — and the only one that covers things no installer can install: field guides, essays, status lines, alternative clients, cost-observability tooling. At 52.3k stars it is also the single most-read document in this ecosystem, which makes it the best place to find out what exists at all.
When each of these is the right pick
SkillWorks does not sell any of these and has nothing to gain from which one you choose. It scores them. Each case below is the one that option genuinely wins.
- Claude Code Templates (aitmpl.com). You want breadth in one place and you want to take several pieces at once. It is the only one of the four that lists all seven Claude Code artifact kinds — skills, agents, commands, settings, hooks, MCPs and plugins — under one search, and the only one with a basket: "Browse components and click the + button to add them to your stack for easy installation." If you are setting up a new machine or a new repository from scratch, that is a genuinely different workflow from copying install commands one at a time.
- awesome-claude-code. You want a human's judgement rather than a search result, and you are browsing rather than installing. It is the only one of the four where a person decided each entry was worth your attention — "A hand-picked collection … with an emphasis on code quality, security, and originality" — and the only one that covers things no installer can install: field guides, essays, status lines, alternative clients, cost-observability tooling. At 52.3k stars it is also the single most-read document in this ecosystem, which makes it the best place to find out what exists at all.
Other Claude Code component directories compared head to head
3 moreWhat was checked, and when
4 sourcesPrices and limits move, and a page quoting a stale one is worth less than a page quoting none. Every source is printed here so a reader can check it against the day they are reading this, and a job re-fetches each of these URLs on a schedule and fails when a figure above no longer appears on the page it came from.
- Claude Code Templates (aitmpl.com), www.aitmpl.com/. Items listed, What it lists, How something gets listed, Whether anything checks the item, How you install from it. Read 2026-09-05.
- Claude Code Templates (aitmpl.com), www.aitmpl.com/docs. How the list is ordered. Read 2026-09-05.
- awesome-claude-code, github.com/hesreallyhim/awesome-claude-code. Items listed, What it lists, How you install from it, How the list is ordered. Read 2026-09-05.
- awesome-claude-code, github.com/hesreallyhim/awesome-claude-code/blob/main/CONTRIBUTING.md. How something gets listed, Whether anything checks the item. Read 2026-09-05.
Last verified 2026-09-05.